I once almost went to a protest

7:02 a.m. – Sent first e-mail to manager and team leaders.

Hi all,
I am not feeling well, so I am availing myself of a sick day today. You can reach me by email.
See you tomorrow,
Rae 

7:03 a.m. – Checked text messages. Our driver claimed she got food poisoning and had been throwing up all night, so, sorry, she couldn’t make it. (Sounded suspiciously like every other sick day email I’ve ever sent.)

7:18 a.m. – Waited an appropriate fifteen minutes to recant. 

I’ll come in. Sorry. It’s fine. See you soon.

Rae

8:15 a.m. – Got out of bed. Made kimchi fried rice.

9:00 a.m. – Got to work.

9:02 a.m. – Best manager-friend of my manager is surprised to see me in the kitchen. “What, you’re not going to Richmond today?”

The rest of the day – Feel awesome.*

*not awesome

Leave a Reply

