Surfing is a goal of mine

I’ve been working on a list of 101 goals. It’s something like a bucket list with a couple of boring habits I’d like to cultivate, like exercising twenty minutes a day everyday and getting to work on time.

One of the goals I am most excited about reaching is surfing in Bali. I have always been madly in love with the ocean, but I never took advantage of any opportunity to go surfing because I never surfed before.

Yeah, I know. It’s taken me about 30 years to realize how circular and sad that kind of thinking is, but here I am.

I’ve been taking Jack Canfield‘s advice about visualizing your goals daily and my own advice about doing what little I can in the purgatory between now and having the means to do what I want with my time. It’s pretty easy to imagine myself right here:

This is not me, but it could be!

But there’s a long distance between there and where I am now, which looks more like this:

Not a natural environment.

In the meantime, I can prepare myself to take advantage of this opportunity by training for it. I got as far as adding a $150 Indo Board to my amazon.com wish list, but I decided to make a balance board myself when I saw I could do it for about $2.

Here she is:

my homemade balance board

details of the brakes

the roller

How to DIY an balance board:

1. Tell your boyfriend you want to make your own balance board.

That’s basically all I did. I had every intention of making it myself, but I don’t have any friends who are contractors and I have never gotten that excited about PVC pipe. I did choose the pretty blue color of the duct tape he wrapped the pipe with for a little bit of traction.

Also, the only place we could find shorter lengths of PVC pipe and the only place that would cut them to the length we needed was Home Depot. Lowe’s was no use. All together, the board, the tape, and the pipe cost about $20, which was a lot more than the $2 I’d heard about, but I didn’t have “pieces of wood” lying around. I didn’t have to pay for my boyfriend and his buddy to put it together, and was well under $150, so it’s still a good deal.

My immediate goal is to be able to stand up on the board, and then to get through some workout routines. When I finally get the chance to get out on the water for real, I want to be able to stand up as soon as possible and not waste another minute. I will say, though, that my initial attempts were just about terrifying. It’s probably like putting on roller skates for the first time, though I can’t quite remember that experience.

Here’s to the future!

One thought on “Surfing is a goal of mine

  1. This is excellent! I’m a carpenter and learning to surf (which has been a long term exercise) and wasn’t sure if the pvc would hold the weight. I’ll be making this today instead of purchasing just the roller from INDO!
    I think yoga has helped with balance while out on the water tremendously. If you’re interested or are not active with it already, one can try at home with online classes at myyogaonline.com at a very inexpensive rate.
    Hope to see you out there!
    Ella

Leave a Reply

